Minutes of Annual General Meeting of Municipal District of Donegal held on Friday the 13th June 2014 in the Peter Kennedy Chamber, Donegal Public Services Centre, Donegal commencing at 2.00pm.

Members Present:

Cllr Sean McEniff

Cllr. John Campbell

Cllr Barry O'Neill

Cllr Noel Jordan

Cllr. Niamh Kennedy

Cllr. Tom Conaghan

Officials Present:

Garry Martin, Director of Services
Peadar Thomas, Senior Executive Engineer, Roads & Transportation
Bridie McBrearty, Area Manager, Housing & Corporate Services
Enda Monaghan, Senior Staff Officer, Housing & Corporate Services

01.00 Election of Cathaoirleach & Leas Cathaoirleach

01.01 Election of Cathaoirleach

Mr. Garry Martin, Director of Service, opened the meeting and informed Members that he is the Director of Service assigned to the Municipal District of Donegal. He asked the outgoing Cathaoirleach, Cllr McEniff to chair the meeting for the first item on the agenda which was election of Cathaoirleach.

Cllr McEniff welcomed everyone present to the meeting. He advised that he was looking forward to working with Mr. Garry Martin, Director of Service, Mr. Peadar Thomas and Ms. Bridie McBrearty Area Managers and all the team for the next term.

Cllr McEniff then sought nominations for the position of Caothaoirleach. On the proposal of Cllr Campbell seconded by Cllr Kennedy Cllr O'Neill was proposed as Cathaoirleach for the forthcoming year.

As no other nominations were received Cllr. O'Neill was unanimously elected and took the chair.

Cllr O'Neill thanked his proposer and seconder, and Members for electing him as Caothaoirlach of the Municipal District of Donegal. He welcomed Mr. Garry Martin, Director of Service, Mr. Peadar Thomas and Ms. Bridie McBrearty Area Managers to the meeting adding he looked forward to working with them over the next five years. He also paid tribute to Cllr Campbell in his election as County Cathaoirleach.

He paid tribute to former Councillors and Candidates, submitting that it is a big decision for an individual to put their name forward for election. He paid particular tribute to former Cllrs Byrne and Boyle for their service to the County and wished them well for the future.

He paid tribute to both the former Members and staff of the Town Councils acknowledging the service they had provided in their respective towns. He submitted it was now up to the Members and staff to continue to maintain their high standards in the Municipal District of Donegal for the benefit of the citizens.

Cllr O'Neill concluded his remarks submitting he looked forward to working in the new Municipal District of Donegal with the new arrangements and advised that he would have no difficulty, as Cathaoirleach, in facilitating meetings outside of the agreed schedule if this was required to deal with important business,

01.02 Election of Leas-Cathaoirleach

The Cathaoirleach then sought nominations for the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach.

On the proposal of Cllr. Campbell and seconded by Cllr. McEniff, Cllr. Noel Jordan was unanimously elected as Leas-Cathaoirleach for the forthcoming year.

02.00 Items referred from Council AGM.

Members were advised that a number of items had been referred from the full Council's AGM for decision by the Municipal District as listed below.

AGM of Municipal District of Donegal on 13th June 2014

Following a short discussion the following nominations were unanimously agreed.

02.01 Election of two Members to Coiste na Gaeilge

On the proposal of Cllr Campbell, seconded by Cllr McEniff, it was agreed that Cllr Niamh Kennedy would be one of the nominees to Coiste na Gaeilge.

On the proposal of Cllr McEniff, seconded by Cllr Jordan it was agreed that Cllr John Campbell would be the other nominee to Coiste na Gaeilge.

02.02 Election of Member to the County Donegal Heritage Forum

On the proposal of Cllr McEniff, seconded by Cllr Campbell it was agreed that Cllr Tom Conaghan would be the nominee to the County Donegal Heritage Forum.

02.03 Election of Two Members to Erne Enterprise development Ltd

On the proposal of Cllr McEniff seconded by Cllr Kennedy it was agreed that Cllr Barry O'Neill would be one of the nominees to Erne Enterprise Development Ltd.

On the proposal of Cllr McEniff, seconded by Cllr Campbell it was agreed that Cllr Tom Conaghan would be the other nominee to Erne Enterprise Development Ltd.

02.04 Election of two Members to the Management Committee of Ballyshannon Leisure Centre Ltd

On the proposal of Cllr Campbell, seconded by Cllr Kennedy it was agreed that Cllrs Sean McEniff and Barry O'Neill would be the two nominees to Ballyshannon Leisure Centre.

A query was raised in relation to the membership of the Management Committee, Members were advised that this is a matter to be dealt with by the actual Committee.

02.05 Election of four Members (or their nominees) to the Board of Bundoran Water World.

On the proposal of Cllr McEniff, seconded by Cllr Campbell it was agreed that the following would be the nominees to the Board of Bundoran Water World:

- 1. Mr. Philip McGlynn
- 2. Ms. Anne McGrath
- 3. Mr. Eamonn Barrett
- 4. Mr. Michael McMahon

02.06 Election of two Members to Interreg IVA Gobbins/Sliabh Liag Project Board

On the proposal of Cllr McEniff, seconded by Cllr Campbell it was agreed that Cllr Niamh Kennedy would be the one of the nominees to the Interreg Gobbins/Sliabh Liag Project Board.

On the proposal of Cllr McEniff, seconded by Cllr Kennedy, it was agreed that Cllr Noel Jordan would be the other nominee to the Interreg IVA Gobbins/Sliabh Liag Project Board

02.07 Election of two Members to Pettigo/Tullyhomen Project Board.

On the proposal of Cllr Campbell, seconded by Cllr Kennedy it was agreed that Cllr Barry O'Neill and Sean McEniff would be the two nominees to the Pettigo Tullyhomen Project Board.

03.00 Planning Matters Raised

03.01 Planning Matters Raised

Cllr Campbell raised a planning matter as an exceptional item at today's meeting. He referred to the recent decision of the Council to refuse planning permission for a wind farm at Altilow which was welcomed by Members. Cllr Campbell submitted in the event of the applicants appealing the decision to refuse to An Board Pleanala, requested that the Council submit a robust defence of their decision to refuse to the Board. Following a short discussion, on the proposal of Cllr Campbell, seconded by Cllr McEniff Members requested the above be referred to the Planning Service.

AGM of Municipal District of Donegal on 13th June 2014

In response Mr. G Martin, Director of Service advised this matter would be brought to the attention of the Planning Service.

04.00 Date and venue of next meeting.

Mr. Martin outlined to Members proposals in respect of dates for next meeting which were being submitted to all Municipal Districts for their consideration;

- The proposed schedule of meetings for both the Plenary Council and Municipal Districts is to be considered by CPG at their meeting on 23rd June.
- 2. Following this, it is proposed to have a full Workshop of Council to consider the schedules and other matters, including functions to be delegated, standing orders, and arrangements for questions and motions etc, on Monday 30th June.
- 3. A proposal in relation to the scheduling of meetings will then be brought forward to the full Council meeting to be held on 28th July for consideration and/or amendment and adoption.

Following a short discussion, on the proposal of Cllr McEniff, seconded by Cllr Conaghan, Members agreed a provisional time and date of 2.00 pm on Wednesday the 16^{th} July 2014 for the next meeting. However this matter is to be kept under review as arrangements at a County level are worked through.

Meetings	Administrator.	
Municipal	District of Donegal	
Cathaoirl	each.	

Municipal District of Donegal.

This concluded the business of the meeting.